Who’s Who In The Parish

About Us > Who’s Who In The Parish

Meet our Rector and Vestry Members

Canon Mark Taylor

The man behind the dog collar

Mark originates from Belfast and was ordained as a minister in the Church of Ireland on 21st June 1987. He commenced his curacy at St Patrick’s Church, Ballymacarret. In February 1990 he moved to St Mark’s, Dundela, for a second curacy. In 1993 he became Rector of the Grouped Parish of Christ Church, Kilmore and Inch Parish Church.

Mark moved to Whitehead as Rector of this parish in August 2002. In 2006 Mark was made Rural Dean of Carrickfergus, which has meant taking on more responsibilities for the care of a number of Churches from Carrickfergus along the coast to Cushendun during times of clergy sickness or vacancies.

In addition to his duties within the Parish, and as Rural Dean, Mark was appointed a Canon of Belfast Cathedral in 2016 by the Bishop of Connor. 

Mark is married to Frances and they have a daughter and son, Anneke and Christopher and Lucy the dog. Alongside his duties as Rector of Whitehead and Islandmagee, Rural Dean and Canon at Belfast Cathedral, Mark is also a rugby referee for IRFU (Irish Rugby Football Union), working in the Ulster Branch and spending his spare time keeping fit!

Some of his other hobbies include walking the family dog – Lucy; riding motorbikes (of which he has owned a few!), Scouting and cooking – Mark has also assisted at ‘Summer Madness’ (a Christian Youth Festival) for the past few years, cooking dinner for hundreds of attendees in a tent in a field.

72 Riverforde, Whitehead
BT38 9TS
Tel: 028 9337 3300
Mobile: 077 1961 9286
Email: mark205@btinternet.com

Members of the Select Vestry

Saint Patrick's Churchwardens

Rector’s Churchwarden 
Colin de Fleury

People’s Churchwarden 
Mabel Allen

Glebe Warden
Trevor Peoples

Saint John's Churchwardens

Rector’s Churchwarden
John Hall

People’s Churchwarden
Pauline Riddle

Glebe Warden
Jim Reid

Church Secretary
Inez Moore

Church Treasurer
Sandra Thompson

Diocesan Reader
George McNeill

Saint John’s Graveyard Manager
Austin Jenkins

Ann Mulholland

Bill Pollock

Alison Higginson

Alan Hayward

Priscilla Carlisle

Janet Peoples

Jo Pawson

Fellowship Group Leader & Church Magazine Editor

William Rafferty

Other Church Members with responsibilities within the Church

Sunday School Leader
Frances Taylor

Youth Fellowship Leader
Stephen Martin

Head of Music and Church Organist
Loreto McAuley

Safeguarding Officer
Evelyn Powers

Church Flower Arranger at St Patrick’s
Jude de Fleury

Church Flower Arranger at St John’s
Ann Thompson

Safeguarding Officer
Valerie Kincaid